Positive Discipline Tool of the Month: Mistakes

Children are incredibly aware of the world around them, and the messages they receive about mistakes- intentional or unintentional- are internalized. If we want our children to be gritty, resilient, risk-takers, we need to be teaching that mistakes are wonderful opportunities to learn. If we want our children to succeed, we need to teach them how to fail.  

Positive Discipline Tool of the Month: Family Meetings

A great way to open up or strengthen the lines of communication within your family is by having weekly family meetings.  Family meetings are an effective tool because all members get to have a voice and the freedom to express themselves.  They also teach important life skills such as respectful communication, problem solving, and responsibility. 

On Wednesday, October 17th, I will be holding my first parent workshop of the year from 7pm-8:30pm in the Drama room. In addition to safeguarding, we will also explore the Positive Discipline approach to family meetings. I hope to see many of you there! 

Welcome Back!

As a school counselor, I view listening as the most essential part of my job. When we feel hurt, angry, confused, or even lost, we’re usually not looking for advice but instead someone to listen and validate our feelings.  This is what I hope to offer every person who comes to my office.

The beginning of a new school year can be both exciting and overwhelming. I want to remind the middle school and high school students that I am here to support and listen to them.

 

Gratitude

Most of us were raised to be polite and respectful, and saying “thank you” is an essential piece of good manners.  But for how many of us has saying “thank you” become a reflex, something we mindlessly utter to the shop clerk or bus driver?  How many of us actually spend any amount of time really reflecting on our gratitude?

SEISEN INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL

Learning to Love, Loving to Learn

Calendars

Current families should log in to the Secure Portal to see the full list of calendars.

Use the Filter to select the calendars you would like to see.

Click a date in the mini-calendar to see events for that date.

Titles of event link to more details.

Click the broadcast symbol to get a subscription link for iCal or Google Calendar.

Select the public calendar to view

  • Academic Calendars

Current families should log in to the Secure Portal to see the full list of calendars.

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Dec 30
Mon, Dec 31
Lunch
-
Tue, Jan 1
Lunch
-
Wed, Jan 2
Lunch
-
Thu, Jan 3
Lunch
-
Fri, Jan 4
Lunch
-
Sat, Jan 5
Sun, Jan 6
Mon, Jan 7
Lunch
-
Tue, Jan 8
Lunch
-
Thu, Jan 10
Lunch
-
Fri, Jan 11
Pancake Breakfast for WESC
-
IB Options Fair
-
Seisen International School, 1 Chome-12-15 Y?ga, Setagaya-ku, T?ky?-to 158-0097, Japan
Lunch
-
Sun, Jan 20
Mon, Jan 21
Lunch
-
Wed, Jan 23
Lunch
-
OXBRIDGE -Summer Programs
-
Thu, Jan 24
Lunch
-
Fri, Jan 25
Lunch
-
Sat, Jan 26
SPA Dinner Dance
-
Happo-en Shirokanedai

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • Phoenix mascot 2016 Sports
January 2019
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Dec 30
Mon, Dec 31
Tue, Jan 1
Wed, Jan 2
Thu, Jan 3
Fri, Jan 4
Sat, Jan 5
Sun, Jan 6
Mon, Jan 7
Tue, Jan 8
Wed, Jan 9
Thu, Jan 10
Fri, Jan 11
Sat, Jan 12
Sun, Jan 13
Mon, Jan 14
Tue, Jan 15
Wed, Jan 16
Thu, Jan 17
Fri, Jan 18
Sat, Jan 19
Sun, Jan 20
Mon, Jan 21
Tue, Jan 22
Wed, Jan 23
Thu, Jan 24
Fri, Jan 25
Sat, Jan 26
Sun, Jan 27
Mon, Jan 28
Tue, Jan 29
Wed, Jan 30
Thu, Jan 31
Fri, Feb 1
Sat, Feb 2